European Universities Alliance: European Universities Linking Society and Technology


EULiST Alliance integrates over 200,000 students and 20,000 staff at 10 universities in 10 countries and even more European regions with complementing strengths in technical topics, humanities and social sciences. Together we represent the diversity of the European university landscape with universities from Sweden and Finland in the North, Greece, Italy and Spain in the South, the Czech and Slovak Republics in the East and Austria, France and Germany in the West and the Centre: We are located in large metropolitan areas such as Athens, Madrid, Paris or Vienna, in major cities like Bratislava, Brest, Brno or Hannover and smaller rural towns such as Albi, Jönköping, Lappeenranta or Lahti.

However, our diversity is not only geographic. Our Members vary in size from 6,000 students at Lappeenranta-Lahti to 45,000 at Rey Juan Carlos. There are many public Members and privately funded ones, long-standing and newly created. Seven of our universities specialise in technology and business; three are comprehensive, offering a full range of disciplines including both STEM and SSH degrees. Some are based on a single campus; others are spread across a wide metropolitan area (URJC, NTUA), in different cities (LUT) or throughout the whole country (IMT).

This diversity is fundamental not only because it enables us to address the challenges of tomorrow, but because we can do so from different perspectives that take into account the different regions. Our diverse contexts also help us be aware of the complex consequences of our actions on individuals, society and the planet, enabling us to respond accordingly and appropriately. This diversity also provides the basis for future collaboration, beyond the four-year funding period, in hubs with other European University Alliances, and allows us to act as a model of good practice for other universities, in order to form synergies across a broad disciplinary range within and beyond Europe.

Project Consortium

Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic (BUT)
Institut Mines-Télécom, France (IMT)
Jönköping University, Sweden (JU)
Lappeenranta-Lahti University of Technology LUT, Finland (LUT)
Leibniz University Hannover, Germany (LUH)
National Technical University of Athens, Greece (NTUA)
Rey Juan Carlos University, Spain (URJC)
Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Slovakia (STU)
University L’Aquila, Italy (UNIVAQ)
TU Wien, Austria (TUW)


Gregor Rozinaj, prof. Ing. PhD (coordinator)

Radoslav Vargic, doc. Ing. PhD

Martin Medvecky, doc. Ing., PhD

Ivan Minarik, Ing.

Marek Vanco, Ing., PhD

Juraj Londak, Ing.

Simon Tibensky, Ing.